Astrology constellations
Astrology constellationsCredit: Celestial Atlas, Alexander Jamieson.


Astrology is believing, that there is complex relationship between astronomical phenomena and events in the human world and live.

Astrologists rely on horoscopes - chart or diagram systems, that use positions of Sun, Moon, Solar system planets and stars in the sky to explain people's personal character and to predict their future.

Astrology word meaning

The word "astrology" comes from Ancient Greek through Latin: "astron" - celestial body and "logia" - study (λέγω - I say, I speak).


The popular Western astrology is based on horoscopes, which depict the movement of Sun and planets across the sky, visible from Earth. The belt of constellations - path of the heavenly bodies dance, is called Zodiac. The most popular is the tropical zodiac, but there is sidereal zodiac too.

Zodiac signs

There is a system of twelve Zodiac signs, based on the constellations, which the Sun passes through at his apparent annual movement. Sketchily, the zodiac consists of twelve 30-degree sectors, which relatively correspond to the positions of those constellations in our sky. Zodiac signs are: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

Planets in astrology

Planets in astrology are the seven celestial bodies, well known to the ancient people. Sun and Moon, called "Lights" or "Luminaries", act as planets and symbolise respectively the existential and sensitive fundamentals of the individuality. The faster moving Mercury, Venus and Mars are called "personal planets" and characterize the individual. The outer planet Jupiter symbolizes prosperity and good fortune. Saturn is a herald of disaster and bad luck. Modern astrology uses other major solar system bodies too.

Moon in astrology

Astrologers believe the position of the Moon in zodiac is very important, because it is the second in influence after the Sun.